Propaganda

propaganda

Propaganda

It was as true at the beginning as it is now. As demonstrated by the recent election, the best propaganda wins. Simply telling the truth gets nowhere; it will be used against you by an effective propagandist who can twist your honest words to mean other than what you said, the way David Barton does.

Propaganda against Hillary began while her husband was still in office, and got attached to her by the MuckRakers, Trump and an army of trumpeters, who contrived a barrage of false charges they trumped up against her to effectively wreak doubt and distrust that should have been easily discharged by a wiser crowd of continuously interested onlookers. That gave Trump an early start to trump up a way to turn the tide against her.

Aware that bullshit works when the truth won’t, Trump applied Hitler’s statement, that says “if a statement is repeated enough it doesn’t have to be true for people to start believing it” and repeated his “nasty girl, crooked Hillary” approach and, for him, repeated doggerel worked. Even many Democrats, who should know better, had been primed by the Republican hype already in place to accept Trumps trumped up spiel.

Now, Bernie Sanders may have been the best candidate after all, but he hadn’t made enough noise before he started electioneering for many people to know him. So, as it worked out, we ended up with a loose cannon with whom we were more familiar. I don’t know if Hillary is a crook or not, and with all the Republican trash printed and on the Internet, I would not trust anything I read about her. All my atheist heart can hope for is that Donald Trump can succeed at making America great again without wrecking what is good about it. If he fails, as I expect, we can be glad to tell him in four years, “You’re fired.”

An unrelated note:

This is my first full post that has been mostly dictated into the computer using the Dragon program. I have a lot to learn about it but I have enjoyed the unexpected accuracy, though not perfect, with which it responds to my voice. It is a fun way to work and saves me from a lot of struggling with a keyboard. It holds a lot of promise for me. I had a stroke this year, the result of which I had to give up playing my guitar. I kept on with my posts, though I made fewer of them and feared the dementia my numerologist predicted. That may come later in time but I will continue with my posts for so long as people tell me they still make sense. I have memory problems, and my hands do not work together anymore. I can no longer be my own mechanic. But, I can think and talk and will continue for so long as that is true, or until Trump has me jailed for expressing what I believe.

Please leave a comment

